Denmark proudly presents; Copenhagen Shibari Dojo

Update: I just heard from Denmark that since the opening things are moving fast. 30 new members, training 3 days a week and one open Friday.

Last time I was in Copenhagen, I felt very welcome and had a fabulous and intense time learning, but this time, it was about celebrating the opening of the Copenhagen Shibari dojo. This house-warming was indeed the perfect start of what is going to be a new fixpoint on the international Shibari scene.

 

I arrived,  a whole lot less stressed than last time, and a very kind member of the dojo offered to pick me up at the station. This time I hope I memorized how to find my way so that the next time I can just walk there. All in all, the location of the venue is very easy to get to, as well as being very close to SMIL.

Stairs lead up to the door, a spacious entrance hall makes it possible to change clothes, as well as removing any footwear, complying with the rules of the place. There is an outdoor smoking area, as well as a ‘living room and then finally the main part; the training area or the actual dojo.

As you can see from the photos  the dojo is bright, spacious with a airy and relaxed atmosphere, a feeling which makes it easy to focus on the work and art at hand, blanking ones mind from the outside world and maximize the possibilities in the moment, creating something of a very unique place.

Rigger: Slemrian. Model:Tatjana

 

There is 6 suspension points, plenty of floorspace and additional points for anchoring limbs of different sorts. There is blankets for those who might feel a bit cold after or during play.

The afternoon followed with Enji Rayd from Studio Six Berlin who held an inspiring opening speach and handed over a dagger, a plaque and two photos to commemorate the day. This ceremony felt both sombre and spiritual but also filled with anticipation.

As generous as Danes are known to be, the guests of the opening were treated with wine and other various alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, sandwiches and snacks. While some socialized, other started tying immediately.

There was different types of tying going on all evening, decorative, erotic, forceful, intense, low-key. I’ve never seen such a different range of people tying and being tied as well, both in terms of gender (equal amounts of female and male riggers!), age, body types, etcetera.
As a part of the dojo ethos, people were learning as well as inspiring each other. The dojo founding group, Shihankai, with some people having more than 16 years of experience with rope was well visible, talkative, friendly and very, very funny, and in the same time very open to ideas and discussions. One whom I talked to expressed a wish that the dojo would generate enough interest so it felt as alive that it felt that evening. It is a hope that I indeed share!

As the night progressed I was lucky enough to see some of the most beautiful rope I’ve seen since the London Festival of the Art of Japanese Bondage. It was not always because of the technique but because of what happened between those involved. It felt honest. It felt emotional and strong. I did not bring my own ropes, mainly because I was craving rope around me myself.  And it was indeed great rope I got to experience first hand. Both was with people I’ve never been tied by before, but both of those was more than great. The last one also made me re-visit a place I’ve not been since Kinoko tied me about 6 months ago. A place that I really never thought I would visit again, but one of the members of the Shihankai had seen the tie during the festival and asked if it was possible I was interested in trying that suspension out again. Of course I could not say no! The other play was a suspension which relied a lot on my legs, a breathtaking experience mainly because yet once more, there was a person who knew enough to note my strengths body wise and work with that. Bring on more, please bring on more of that:)

The dojo is bringing over Osada Steve this month, and are planning several other tuition-occasions. And they are indeed ready for it!

A personal thank you to all of the Shihankai and everyone else who make this place what it is. Good luck in the future. I’ll be back as soon as I can. That is both a threat and a promise!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All pictures provided by the Shihankai group of Copenhagen Shibari Dojo.

 

2 responses to “Denmark proudly presents; Copenhagen Shibari Dojo

Leave a Reply

